Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Log Book
12 mai 2006

(...) skin rash or hives .. I had difficulties to

(...) skin rash or hives ..
I had difficulties to understand the eaxact meaning of these two words but it seems that "skin rash or hives" are an irritated skin.

(...) black, tarry stools..
This is the funniest translation I've ever had to do! Literally, I found that "stool" means "tabouret" in French in the dictionnary... Here, there is no point to translate it by "tabouret", it is something which can be in our urine, and which is black. First of all, it's a side effects, so it can't be something good for our health, and anyway, urine doesn't have black "things" in it normaly...So, here I don't have a clue to know what "tarry stools" means.

"pinpoint red spots on skin"
On the Internet, I saw that "pinpoint" is translated by "pointe d'épingle" or "ponctuelle". I would say that, because of the ocntext, it means that there may have some little red spots, here or elsewhere.

"drowsiness"
It's a state where/when you are nether asleep or awake. In French, "somnolence".

"or are bothersome"
To bother is to annoy, and to be bothered is to be annoyed by something or someone. Considering that, I can imagine that it is an adjective which says that something is annoying. I would translate it by "gênant" or "ennuyant".

 

Publicité
Commentaires
D
'stools' en anglais = des 'selles' en français, Non, t'as raison, ce ne sont pas des tabourets !<br /> 'Tarry' vient du mot 'tar' càd 'goudrons', donc = goudroneuse = sticky and viscous.<br /> What a delightful subject !
Publicité